about dufs

Dhaka University Film Society is a voluntary organization affiliated with the Dhaka University Central Students Union (DUCSU) at University of Dhaka. DUFS is registered under the Film Societies Act, 2011 and the Bangladesh Film Censor Board. It is also a member of Federation of Film Societies, Bangladesh. This organization has started its journey in 1962 during the Film Society Movement. It took three decades of consistent performance and unremitting handwork of hundreds of film enthusiasts to reach DUFS’s present glorious position.

our belief DUFS believes in the strength of Film as a massive art and communication media.

We believe that better films can create better people and thus can make the world more serene and creative. We as an organization are working for a better humanitarian world using Film as a tool to change the society.

our goal Main goal of DUFS is to make a platform for better films.

DUFS believes that promoting better films will eventually create a group of better audience.

film society movement

The Film Society Movement in the University of Dhaka first started its journey in 1962. Mahbub Jamil and Mohammad Selim were among the chief organizers at that time who kept the organization strongly active for several years. In the late 1970s, students formed another organization, named ‘Science Cine Club’. This club arranged a film workshop after a few years. Professor Satish Bahadur and Professor Surendra Chowdhury of Pune Film Institute were among the instructors of that workshop. ‘Science Cine Club’ soon became the center of film-related activities in University of Dhaka. In 1991, the Film Society Movement in Dhaka University reformed with the name ‘Dhaka University Film Society’.


Habiba Rahman


Executive Committee members

Shiyan Shahriar Alamgir


Tanjina Sultana Sejuti

General Secretary

Mahmudul Hasan

Vice President

Asif Karim Chowdhury


Rokunuuzzaman Toha

Office Secretary

Tasnia Jaman

Assistant Office Secretary

Rifat Shahriar Arnob

International Affairs Secretary

Md. Ashikur Rahman

Assistant International Affairs Secretary

Apurbo Das Suvro

Information and Communication Secretary

Farhan Sakib Alvi

Assistant Information and communication Secretary

Yasir Ahmed

Study Circle and Workshop Secretary

Faria Rahman

Publication and Research Secretary

Sumantta Sarker Arpon

Assistant Publication and Research Secretary

Al Sahariar Ziddne

Executive Member

Tahmeed Abdullah

Executive Member

Pulak Goswami

Executive Member

Teertha Pratim Das

Executive Member

Muttakimur Rahman Rafi

Executive Member

Nishat Salsabil Rob

Executive Member

Anika Anjum Aurny

Executive Member

Tarek Hasan Taz

Executive Member

Nafisa Zaman Bony

Executive Member

Rehnuma Shahreen

Executive Member

Nuzhat Jahan Nuha

Executive Member

Md. Israt Abu Toimur

Executive Member

Nur Nishat Anjum

Executive Member

Ashraful Haque Asif

Executive Member

Abdullah Al Shahid

Executive Member

Jubayer Mahmud Khan

Executive Member

Samarpon Barua

Executive Member

Over 90+ Active Members